MedStar Franklin Square Medical Center Elects Board Leaders | MedStar Health

MedStar Franklin Square Medical Center Elects Board Leaders

Share this

Dr. Michael Suter Named Chair; W. Daniel McLaughlin, Vice Chair

BALTIMORE, MD (October 2016) – The MedStar Franklin Square Medical Center Board of Directors elected internal medicine physician, Dr. Michael Suter, as the 31st chairman in the hospital’s 118-year history. It also announced W. Daniel McLaughlin will step into the vice chair role, and welcomed new members Denise Matricciani and Eric Washington to the 20-member board, effective November 1.

Baltimore business leader Michael Dietrich will step down from the chair position, ending his two year term.  He has been a MFSMC board member since 2008.

SUTER_Michael_internal medicine_MFSMC.jpgDr. Suter, a board-certified internal medicine physician, has been providing care to the Baltimore community for 23 years. Currently, he sees patients at his private practice in Parkville, which he began in 2005. 

Serving as president of the MedStar Franklin Square medical staff from 2004 to 2006, Dr. Suter joined the board of directors as an ex-officio member in 2004 and was elected to the board in 2009. He served as chair of the hospital’s physician committee for the patient tower capital campaign and on the community health improvement committee, and is an active member of the Foundation Board of Directors.

After completing a master’s degree in applied medical statistics at the University of Southern California in Los Angeles, Dr. Suter attended medical school at the University of Glasgow in Scotland. He returned to the United States and completed his residency in internal medicine at MedStar Franklin Square.

W. Daniel McLaughlin is the president of Bay View Homecare Inc., a home and physician medical equipment supplier.

He was the former supervisor of the pulmonary function lab at St. Joseph Hospital and received his cardio pulmonary and pulmonary function technician licenses in 1983. Since then, Mr. McLaughlin has served on the capital campaign committee for the Kingsville Volunteer Fire Company and as chair of the MedStar Franklin Square Foundation Board of Directors.

Denise Matricciani is the corporate affairs manager for Erickson Living, where she is responsible for review programs that ensure compliance with state and federal laws, licenses and certifications required for each retirement community. She began her career with the Maryland Hospital Association and became vice president of Governmental Policy and Advocacy in 1998. Since that time, she has served on the Maryland Government Relations Association, Maryland Rural Health Association, and Maryland Coalition Against Sexual Assault.

Eric Washington is the student conduct administrator for the Community College of Baltimore County (CCBC), where he provides leadership training for student community advocates and upholds the college’s code of conduct. Prior to this role, Mr. Washington was the adult coordinator/admissions counselor, adjunct professor, and coordinator of the weekend college at CCBC. He served as a Maryland state representative for the United States Civil Rights Commission and as commissioner for the Baltimore County Human Relations Commission. Mr. Washington is also an active member of the Police Community Relations Council and Dundalk Renaissance Corporation.

About MedStar Franklin Square Medical Center
MedStar Franklin Square Medical Center is a not-for-profit 378-bed community teaching hospital located in the White Marsh section of eastern Baltimore County, Maryland. MedStar Franklin Square provides many medical and healthcare services, including a broad range of healthcare specialties, advanced technologies and treatments not traditionally found at community hospitals. The hospital is ranked third in admissions among all Maryland hospitals and is first in Emergency Department visits with more than 108,000 visits annually. MedStar Franklin Square is accredited by the Joint Commission and certified as a Primary Stroke Center and has earned some of the nation’s most prestigious quality awards including Magnet Designation for excellence in nursing, the Excellence Award for Quality Improvement from the Delmarva Foundation and inclusion in the U.S. News & World Report Best Hospital specialty ranking for four consecutive years. With more than 3,300 employees, MedStar Franklin Square is one of the largest employers in Baltimore County. Visit for more information.