NEED ASSISTANCE? | CALL 855-546-0672

Cytopathology Fellowship

Yolanda C. Oertel, M.D. Cytopathology Fellowship


Yolanda C
Dr. Oertel’s celebrated diagnostic skills earned her the alias “One Cell Oertel”

Over a career spanning more than three decades, Dr. Yolanda Oertel has become a recognized pioneer in Cytopathology. “I am committed to enhancing and facilitating the use of fine needle aspiration because I believe its full potential has not been realized,” Dr. Oertel says, and “we have to make sure more pathologists are comfortable with doing his/her own aspirations.” Dr. Oertel’s commitment to teaching continues with this fully accredited one year fellowship that she has generously funded.  A trainee under Dr. Oertel, Dr. Mary Sidawy, Cytopathology Program Director at MedStar Georgetown, states: “Dr. Oertel has inspired many residents and has trained and mentored a generation of fellows. The importance of this fellowship is that in a small way, it recognizes and honors Dr. Oertel’s legacy and achievements.”

The fellowship is primarily based at MedStar Georgetown University Hospital with rotation at MedStar Washington Hospital Center. Throughout the year, the fellow is continuously exposed to all aspects of cytopathology including gynecologic, exfoliative non-gynecologic, fine needle aspiration (FNA) of palpable and deep-seated lesions, and consult cases.  FNA of palpable lesions are performed in our departmental FNA clinic. In addition, the fellow has the opportunity to perform ultrasound-guided FNA during their rotation at Metropolitan Fine Needle Aspiration Service with Dr. Anne Busseniers. The fellowship is designed to build confidence by graduated increases in expectations and responsibilities.  During their training the fellow is thoroughly involved in laboratory quality management, interdisciplinary quality improvement and safety projects, peer review of scientific articles, and research activities.
The fellow participates in many departmental and multidisciplinary conferences, and is involved in teaching residents, cytotechnologists and medical students.

Cytopathology Fellowship 1
Dr. Yolanda Oertel (center). From the left, Dr. Gazal Alsaati, Dr. Pedro deBrito, Dr. Mary Sidawy, Dr. Wen Lee
First Recipient of Cytopathology Fellowship
Dr. Yolanda Oertel (center). From the left, Dr. Mary Sidawy, Dr. Jay Zeck, first recipient of the Yolanda C. Oertel Fellowship
Cytopathology Fellowship Director
From the left, Dr. Kenneth Burman, Administrative Director of the Yolanda C. Oertel Fellowship, Richard Kief , Dr. Yolanda Oertel