Hospital Awards & Accreditations | MedStar Franklin Square Medical Center | MedStar Health

Recent Awards

The Joint Commission_National Quality Approval_ GoldSeal
The Gold Seal of Approval® from The Joint Commission (2022-2025: Three-year designation)

For our dedication to improving health care quality and safety. Hospital accreditation provides the gold seal of approval on how well our staff:

  • provides a safe environment for patient care
  • educates patients about the risks and options for your diagnosis and treatment
  • protects patients’ rights as a patient, including privacy rights
  • evaluates patients’ conditions, before, during and after diagnosis and treatment
  • protects patients against infection
  • plans for emergency situations
Comprehensive Stroke Center logo - MedStar Franklin Square Medical Center

Comprehensive Stroke Center

Certified by the Maryland Institute of EMS Systems and The Joint Commission as a Comprehensive Stroke Center.

This program is the most demanding stroke certification and is designed for those hospitals that have specific abilities to receive and treat the most complex stroke cases.

ABRET EEG Laboratory Accreditation logo

ABRET EEG Laboratory Accredited (2023 - 2028: Five-year accreditation)

Based on the technical quality of EEGs performed in our laboratory, our policies, departmental competency, and team excellence.

Healthiest Maryland Business 2023 Exemplar logo

2023 Healthiest Maryland Business Exemplar

Exemplar recognized businesses have well-established workplace wellness practices promoting a culture of health across the organization; address wellness through all four strategies:

  1. policy
  2. programming
  3. benefits
  4. environmental support;

and evaluate their workplace wellness initiatives and use evaluation results to inform future planning and implementation.

ANCC Magnet Recognition Badge

ANCC Magnet Recognized (2023-2027: Four-year designation)

MedStar Franklin Square received its third designation for excellence in nursing services from the American Nurses Credentialing Center's (ANCC) Magnet Recognition Program (four-year designation). The first recognition was November 2008, the second in 2013, the third in 2018, and the latest in 2023.

Learn more

CCNE Accreditation logo

Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education Accreditation (2021-2027: Five-year designation)

Employee-Based Nurse Residency Program at MedStar Franklin Square Medical Center is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education

2022 Baltimore Magazine Top Doctors Badge
Baltimore Magazine's "Top Doctors" (2022)

MedStar Franklin Square Medical Center is grateful for the many MedStar Health doctors who are recognized by Baltimore magazine’s much anticipated and highly coveted “2022 Top Doctors.” We are proud that we have doctors who are recognized throughout the years.

Baltimore Magazine Excellence in Nursing 2023

Baltimore Magazine's Excellence in Nursing (2023)

Baltimore magazine recognized 20 MedStar Health nurses with the 2023 Excellence in Nursing award (five from MedStar Franklin Square). For the past several years, Baltimore magazine has conducted a survey seeking the best nurses in the region to be featured in a special issue dedicated to top nurses.

Commission On Cancer Logo

MedStar Health Regional Cancer Program (2023)

Recognized by the Commission on Cancer, a quality program of the American College of Surgeons. To earn this accreditation, a cancer program must meet 34 quality care standards, be evaluated every three years through a survey process, and maintain levels of excellence in the delivery of comprehensive patient-centered care.

Maryland Perinatal Neonatal Quality Collaborative - Silver Level

Maryland Perinatal-Neonatal Quality Collaborative Silver-Level Recognition

Honored by the Maryland Perinatal-Neonatal Quality Collaborative for our participation in their hypertension stewardship initiative and our commitment to improving health outcomes for birthing people and newborns.

Baby-Friendly USA Badge
Baby-Friendly Designation (2020 - 2025: Five-year designation)

MedStar Franklin Square Medical Center is raising the standard of care for infant and maternal health as the first hospital in Baltimore 
to achieve the prestigious five-year Baby-Friendly designation from Baby-Friendly USA. We implemented all Ten Steps to Successful Breastfeeding and is compliant with the International Code of Marketing of Breast-milk Substitutes; so that evidenced-based care is provided, education is free from commercial interests, all infant feeding options are possible, and individual preferences are respected. Also recognized in 2016 for a five-year designation.

NICHE Exemplar Badge 2024

Nurses Improving Care for Healthsystem Elders (NICHE) Exemplar (2023)

MedStar Franklin Square Medical Center achieved the highest and most prestigious level of recognition as an ‘Exemplar’ member organization of Nurses Improving Care for Healthsystem Elders (NICHE) due to our dedication to improving the quality of care older adults receive, We conduct educational courses, conferences, and evidence-based protocols to improve our care.

Safe Sleep Hospital award badge
National Certified Bronze Safe Sleep Hospital 2023 - 2028 (five-year certification)

First hospital in the Baltimore area to be recognized by The Cribs for Kids® National Safe Sleep Hospital Certification program for its commitment to educating parents on safe sleep practices for infants. 

Maryland Patient Safety Center award logo

Neonatal Abstinence Syndrome (NAS) Center of Excellence Award

The Maryland Patient Safety Center awarded MedStar Franklin Square Medical Center the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) and our Mother/Baby Unit the Neonatal Abstinence Syndrome (NAS) Center of Excellence Award for our commitment to continuously improving patient and family outcomes. NAS occurs in newborns who were exposed to opiates, alcohol, narcotics, or other drugs while in the mother’s womb.

Mission Lifeline: American Heart Association award badge
American Heart Association’s Mission: Lifeline®  (2022)

STEMI Receiving Center – Gold

A national recognition endorsing the hospital’s continued commitment and success in using the Mission Lifeline program and applying the most up-to-date evidence-based treatment guidelines to improve patient care and outcomes in the community. 

2023 American Heart Association's Get With The Guidelines award logo

American Heart Association’s Get with the Guidelines® - Stroke Gold Plus (2023)
Target: Stroke Honor Roll Elite Plus, Advanced Therapy
Target: Type 2 Diabetes Honor Roll

American Heart Association/American Stroke Association’s American Heart Association/American Stroke Association’s Get with the Guidelines®-Stroke Gold Plus Achievement Award, a national recognition endorsing the hospital’s continued commitment and success in implementing a higher standard of care for stroke patients. MedStar Franklin Square also received a Get with the Guidelines award in 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, and 2022.

American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Rehab Badge

American Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Rehabilitation’s
(2021 – 2024: Three-year certification)

Three-year certification in recognition of our commitment to improving the quality of life of patients by enhancing our standards of care.

Newsweek High Performing Hospitals award badge
U.S. News and World Report (2022-2023)

  1. High Performing in Lunch Cancer Surgery

  2. High Performing in Heart Failure

  3. High Performing in Diabetes care

  4. High Performing in Nephrology

  5. High Performing in Stroke

  6. High Performing in Lung Cancer Surgery

  7. High Performing in Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease